Creetown is situated in Galloway
southwest Scotland, 30 miles east of
Stranraer, 41 miles west of
Dumfries, just off the
The main attractions at Creetown today
are the Heritage Museum, and the Gem Rock
Museum with its popular Cafe / Diner.
See also a large Click On Map for the
area Top Attractions.
The image top is looking north along the
main street / St John Street towards Adamson
Creetown Heritage Museum was opened in 1997,
situated on St John Street giving information
on the village history and local wildlife, with
images and large screen TVs. Museum Website.
Hotel is situated on St John Street, next
to the square. The hotel was built in 1898 of
the local granite stone.
The Ellangowan Hotel was used in the filming
of the 1973 horror movie The Wicker Man
with Britt Eckland, Christopher Lee, and Edward
Woodward. Most of the film was shot in
Adamson Square at the Clocktower was
remodeled in 2005 using local granite, also
with a 9 feet diameter granite sphere. The
Japanese sculpture Hideo Furuta produced the
sphere, and carried out much of the work on the
square. Furuta had settled in the Creetown area
in the late 1990s, and died in 2007, aged
The War Memorial is situated about 50 yards
north of the square, with the kids play area
past the memorial.
The Gem Rock Museum
is situated on the south side of the village on
Chain Road, a few hundred yards walk uphill
from the square, or you can drive up.
This is a popular attraction giving
information of gems found around the world, has
a shop with a wide range of jewelry for sale,
and has a popular cafe /diner.
St Joseph's Church is situated close to the
Gem Rock Museum on Hill Street. This church was
built in 1876 of local granite. Planning
permission was given in 2013 for the church to
be converted to a Music Centre. The town has an
annual Music Festival.
Castle Cary Holiday
Park is situated about 1 mile south of
Creetown. The park offers holiday caravans,
pitches for tents, and spots for touring vans.
The park also has the Lairds Inn with a
Trout Fishery is situated 3 miles
1500s - the town evolved at the mouth of the
River Cree where it flows into Wigtown Bay.
The town was originally known as the
Ferrytown of Cree, as it was where you could
take a ferry across the River Cree to the
The ferry was popular with pilgrims
traveling to the shrine of St Ninian at
1760s - the Military Road between England
and Portpatrick and Stranraer
passed through the town. These port towns were
used for trade with Ireland.
1785 - the town was renamed Creetown by
local landowner, James McCullogh of Barholm
Estate. He also re-developed the town, laying
out the main streets.
The town grew around industries such as the
excavation of sea shells for fertilizer, cotton
mill, lead mine, and a number of granite
quarries. Much of Liverpool Docks were built
with this granite.
1861 - the railway reaches the area with a
station about 1 mile outside the town.
1876 - St Joseph's Church is completed with
1895 - the local football team is formed
known as The Ferrytoun.
1897 - the clocktower is built of local
1898 - the Ellangowan Hotel is completed
with local granite.
1965 - the railway is closed.
1971 - the Gem Rock Museum was opened.
1973 - the horror film The Wicker Man is
shot in the area and in Creetown.
1997 - the Creetown Heritage Museum is
2005 - Adamson Square is redeveloped with