logo image

Galashiels

RS Home

Galashiels is the second largest town in the Borders region in southeast Scotland, 35 miles south of Edinburgh.

Galashiels is popular for its Tapestry Museum on the High Street, Old Gala House Museum a 5 minute walk west of the Market Square on Scott Crescent, and Abbotsford House museum 2 miles southeast.

Galashiels has many small local shops around the centre and many large stores close to the centre such as Asda, B&M, Home Bargains, McDonalds, M&S Foodhall, Next, Sports Direct, Tesco, TK Max. Many touring bands play here. WhatsOn

For Images on Mobile swipe right

Map Hotels Large Images
Shops B&Bs Self Catering
Cinema Golf Restaurants

Click On Map for area Attractions

Camping & Touring Parks in area

The image top is from the Market Square looking down Bank Street with the High Street further on. There is a Statue of Sir Walter Scott here and a large Mural of him on a building.

The Great Tapestry of Scotland is a museum on the High Street, with 160 linen panels showing the history of Scotland, opened in 2021. Wiki Page.

The Old Post Office building is next to the Tapestry Museum, built in 1896 at 1 Channel Street.

Channel Street is the main Shopping Street in the town leading from the Post Office south to Market Street.

Coulter's Candy Statue is at Market Street, erected in 2019 in honour of Robert Coulter, a local Weaver who made Sweets to sell around the Borders. There is a song about him from the mid 1800s named Ally Bally Bee.

At the top of Market Street is the Market Cross erected around 1599, and Burgh Chambers built from 1867.

The Tower with a War Memorial was built onto the Burgh Chambers in the 1920s.

The Border Reiver Statue in front of the Burgh Chambers was erected in 1924.

Old Gala House Museum is a 5 minute walk west from the Market Cross down John Street then onto Scott Crescent, built from 1457 for the Pringle family, converted to a Museum, Borders Family History Society, and Wedding venue in the 1980s. Wiki Page.

Abbotsford House, home of Sir Walter Scott, 1771 to 1832, is 2 miles southeast of Galashiels, one of the top attractions in the area.

Galashiels History

1136 - Melrose Abbey was built 5 miles west of where Galashiels is today, with the Monks introducing sheep farming to the area for wool and meat.

Around this time, the name Galche is mentioned in a charter, thought to be the first mention of Galashiels.

1400s early - there was a Tower of Earl Douglas in the area.

1457 - the earliest parts of Old Gala House were built for the Lairds of Galashiels, the Pringle family, who were granted the Lairdship by Earl Douglas. Galashiels has since grown around the house.

1500s - the first small Water Powered Textile Mills were built.

1590s - the Old Tolbooth was built in the centre of Galashiels to serve as a courthouse, prison and for council meetings.

1599 - the Market Cross was built in the town centre, replaced by the one seen today in 1867.

1771 - the Lairds of Galashiels, the Scott's by then through marriage, began encouraging the building of large Textile Mills in the area.

1849 - the Railway reached the town leading to coal being brought in to power Steam Mills and Wool from around the area, then transport the high quality cloth around the World.

1870s - New Gala House was built for the Lairds of Galashiels, the Scott's.

1880 - the Old Tolbooth was demolished, then replaced by the Burgh Chambers that can be seen today.

1890 - the population had grown to 20,000 due to the Textile Industry.

1987 - New Gala House was demolished.

1996 - the last Textile Mill closed in Galashiels, named Patons & Baldwins.

RS Home





.



Galashiels photos
.