logo image

Muirfield Golf Club

RS Home

Muirfield Golf Club is situated 21 miles east of Edinburgh, next to the Village of Gullane.

This is one of the top Golf Clubs in Scotland that has held The Open golf tournament 16 times.

Muirfield Golf Club welcomes visitors with a round costing between £110 and £270. Postcode: EH31 2EG

For Images on Mobile swipe right

Map Large Images Website

Click On Map for area Attractions

Camping & Touring Parks in area

The image top is of the Muirfield Golf Club clubhouse and starters office to the right.

The second image is of the 18th Green with the Clubhouse behind.

1744 - the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers was formed playing at Leith Links 5 hole course for almost 100 years.

1836 - the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers began playing at the Musselburgh Old Course over its 9 holes. The Musselburgh Old Course was a Public Course that soon became over crowded, as Golf became more popular.

1891 - the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers had this new private 18 hole Course built at Muirfield, designed by the famous golfer Old Tom Morris.

1892 - The Open championship was played at Muirfield Golf Club with Harold Hilton from England winning.

1901 - the 5 Star Greywalls Hotel was built next to Muirfield Golf Club.

2007 - the Senior British Open was Played at Muirfield with Tom Watson winning.

2013 - Phil Mickelson from the United States won the last Open to be held at Muirfield.

2016 - Muirfield was taken off The Open rota as it did not allow Women to join the Club, they were only allowed to play the Course as guests of members.

2017 - Women were allowed to join Muirfield so the Club would be allowed to hold The Open again.

Muirfield has held The Open 16 times since 1892 with the winners:

1892 - Harold Hilton - England

1896 - Harry Vardon - Jersey

1901 - James Braid - Scotland

1906 - James Braid - Scotland

1912 - Ted Ray - Jersey

1929 - Walter Hagen - United States

1935 - Alf Perry - England

1948 - Henry Cotton - England

1959 - Gary Player - South Africa

1966 - Jack Nicklaus - United States

1972 - Lee Trevino - United States

1980 - Tom Watson - United States

1987 - Nick Faldo - England

1992 - Nick Faldo - England

2002 - Ernie Els - South Africa

2013 - Phil Mickelson - United States

RS Home


Muirfield Golf Club Photos