1716 - during the second Jacobite
Rising, 350 Highlanders returning from the
Battle of Sheriffmuir destroyed most of Crieff
1731 - the local landowner from Drummond Castle 3 miles south, James
Drummond, 3rd Duke of Perth, laid out James
Square in the centre of the town and built a
Flax Factory to manufacture Linen.
1730s - a Military Road was built through
Crieff as the Government set about trying to
control Scots Clans.
1746 - during the third Jacobite Rising, the
Jacobite army camped at Crieff with Prince
Charles Edward Stuart holding a meeting in the
old Drummond Arms Inn in James Square.
A few weeks later, the Jacobite's were
defeated for the final time at the Battle of
1770s - Falkirk began taking much of the
Cattle Droving business from Crieff.
1818 - the Glenturret Whisky Distillery
opened just outside Crieff.
1850s - the Railway had linked most of
Scotland's Cities and large Towns, leading to
the end of Cattle Droving.
1856 - Crieff Railway Station opened with a
link to Perth, and from there the rest of the
1868 - Crieff Hydro Hotel opened, attracting
many visitors to the area.
The Town also attracted Wealthy Businessmen
from the Cities who built grand houses to serve
as their second homes.
1882 - Crieff Free Church was built.
1883 - Crieff Parish Church is built.
1891 - Crieff Golf Club was founded.
1964 - Crieff Railway Station closed.
1990 - the Glenturret Distillery opened its
Famous Grouse Experience visitor centre.
2019 - the French company Lalique Group took
over the Glenturret Distillery, ending the
Famous Grouse Experience.
You can still visit the Glenturret
Distillery, and it is said the Distillery still
produces some of the Whisky that is used in the
Blend of the Famous Grouse.